Tips for Insurance Reimbursement

Canada

Experience has shown that most employee health insurance companies will cover some or all of the cost of home UVB phototherapy equipment; however, often this requires considerable persistence by the applicant.

To have the best chance of reimbursement, our suggestions are:

1. Obtain Solarc’s Standard Information Package (SIP) for home phototherapy or download individual files from the Download Centre. We suggest at least two (2) copies; one for your insurance company and one for your records. A third copy may be useful to leave with your physician. If you are having trouble downloading, give us a call or use the Contact Us page to request that an information package be mailed to you. We will make sure you get what you need.

2. Although a physician’s prescription is not required to purchase a phototherapy device or make a medical expense claim on your Canadian income taxes, a prescription may be useful when applying for coverage to an employer’s health insurance plan. If your physician is reluctant to write a prescription, to release them from liability, consider providing them with a signed copy of the “Acknowledgement and Indemnity Agreement” located on the last page of the Solarc Order Form. On request, Solarc can provide the physician any additional info required, such as a SolRx User’s Manual.

3. Supply your physician with a copy of our Doctor’s Letter of Medical Necessity and ask if they have time to create a personalized version of this for you on their stationery, or have them simply fill in the blanks in the form. There may be a cost for this. You may wish to provide your physician with the above editable MS-Word (.doc) file for their convenience.

4. If you cannot get your physician to create the Letter of Medical Necessity, we recommend that you write your own personalized letter to your company’s human resources department or insurance company using our Patient’s Letter to Insurance Company template, which is an editable MS-Word (.doc) file that you can easily personalize. This is your opportunity to make a “business case” for acquiring the equipment. In other words, based on your usage of drugs and other costs, will the equipment pay for itself? To support your case, include a copy of the medical study: “Are Narrow-band Ultraviolet B Home Units a Viable Option for Continuous or Maintenance Therapy of Photoresponsive Skin Diseases?” (pdf)

5. Talk to your human resources or insurer contact person about your request and present them with copies of your prescription, Letter of Medical Necessity, and all of the information literature. Ask for their help with your request. Contact Solarc if your insurer requires submission of an invoice before they will consider coverage (Proforma invoice).

6. Depending on the insurance company, the first response to your request may be that the equipment is not covered. The reason for this is that the first line contact person is normally only supplied with a list of commonly insured equipment, and UVB phototherapy equipment is often not listed. It might be helpful to mention that home phototherapy equipment is on the list of medical expense tax credit eligible expenses. See: Income Tax Act, Medical Tax Credit, 118.2(2)(i)

 

Insurance company considerations:

After surveying hundreds of our Canadian home phototherapy customers over many years, we have consistent documented evidence that, with respect to the large Canadian health insurance companies coverage of Solarc’s medical UVB home phototherapy equipment:

• MANULIFE almost always provides health insurance coverage for the purchase;
• COUGHLIN almost always provides health insurance coverage for the purchase;
• DESJARDINS almost always provides health insurance coverage for the purchase;
• BLUE CROSS sometimes provides health insurance coverage for the purchase;
• GREAT WEST LIFE sometimes provides health insurance coverage for the purchase;
• SUNLIFE almost never provides health insurance coverage for the purchase (ironic considering their name).

It is economically sensible for the health insurance companies to cover the devices because they have been proven to be very cost effective. Use of topical creams and ointments is typically greatly reduced (which at $230 for a single tube of Dovobet® can cost thousands of dollars per year), and UVB-NB phototherapy can keep patients away from the new biologic drugs, which cost $20,000 to $30,000 per year. To boot, UVB home phototherapy reduces the number of patients that must attend government paid phototherapy clinics, of which there are about 100 in Canada.

At this point, talk to your contact person again, and politely ask that your request be forwarded to a more senior representative. Try to talk directly with this more senior person. Some insurance companies will have an “appeal” process. Many people have made successful appeals.

Here is the key: Be persistent with your request and ask that it be referred even higher up if necessary. Be patient and always polite. At some point the answer may be a definitive “no”, but in many cases, the Insurer will comply. Your persistence shows that this is very important to you and that you truly need the device. Once approved, and just in case there is a change in personnel at the insurance company, try to get the insurer’s commitment in writing…Good Luck!

 

To request a proforma invoice to provide to your insurance company, please give us a call at 1-866-813-3357 or fill in and submit the form below.

Which device and model number are you requesting this proforma invoice for?

1000-Series



E-Series Combinations




500-Series


100-Series

We will email you your requested proforma invoice in 1-3 business days.

Le Remboursement de l'Assurance

Canada

L’expérience a montré que la plupart des compagnies d’assurance couvrent entièrement ou en partie les appareils de photothérapie UVB pour traitement à domicile; mais cela demande souvent à l’intéressé quelques efforts et de la persévérance.

 

Voici nos suggestions pour avoir le plus de chances d’obtenir un remboursement:

  1. Munissez-vous du Kit d’Information Standard de Solarc (SIP) pour la photothérapie à domicile. Le meilleur moyen de l’obtenir est de le télécharger par le lien ci-dessus, ou en documents individuels par le Centre de Téléchargement. Nous vous recommandons d’en avoir deux copies, une pour votre compagnie d’assurance et une pour vos archives. Une troisième copie peut être utile pour la confier à votre médecin. Si vous avez des difficultés pour le téléchargement, appelez-nous ou utilisez la page Contactez nous pour nous demander de vous envoyer le kit d’information. Nous ferons en sorte que vous ayez ce dont vous avez besoin.
  2. Bien qu’une prescription médicale ne soit pas requise pour acquérir un appareil ou faire une demande d’abattement d’impôt pour frais médicaux, une prescription peut être utile lors d’une demande de couverture d’un plan d’assurance santé d’un employeur. Si votre médecin n’est pas disposé à en rédiger une, pensez à signer et présenter l’ “Accord de Reconnaissance et Indemnisation ” qui se trouve sur la dernière page du Formulaire de Commande. Sur demande, Solarc peut fournir des informations supplémentaires au médecin, comme un Manuel de l’Utilisateur.
  3. Remettez à votre médecin une copie de notre Lettre du Médecin sur le Besoin Médical et demandez-lui d’en créer une version personnalisée pour vous dans son système, ou demandez-lui simplement de remplir les espaces blancs du formulaire. Il peut y avoir un coût pour cela. Vous pouvez donner à votre médecin une copie du fichier MS-Word (.doc) ci-dessus qu’il pourra éditer.
  4. Si vous n’arrivez pas à obtenir la lettre de votre médecin, écrivez votre propre lettre personnalisée au service des ressources humaines de votre compagnie ou à votre compagnie d’assurance en utilisant notre modèle de Lettre du Patient à la Compagnie d’Assurance. template. C’est aussi un fichier MS-Word (.doc) que vous pouvez facilement éditer et personnaliser. C’est l’occasion pour vous de négocier pour l’acquisition de l’appareil. En effet l’appareil ne se paiera-t-il pas tout seul si vous considérez les frais en médicaments et autres que vous avez ? Pour appuyer votre demande, vous pouvez inclure une copie de l’étude médicale : “Les Appareils de Rayons Ultraviolets B de Bande Etroite pour la Maison sont-ils une Option Viable pour la Thérapie Continue ou d’Entretien des Maladies de Photosensibilité de la Peau ?” (pdf en anglais).
  5. Parlez de votre demande à votre contact RH de votre employeur ou votre assureur, en lui présentant copies de votre ordonnance médicale, la lettre et toute la littérature d’information. Demandez-lui de vous aider. Contactez Solarc si l’on vous demande une facture pro forma pour compléter votre demande de couverture. (Facture Proforma).
  6. Selon la compagnie d’assurance, la première réponse à votre demande peut être que cet appareil n’est pas couvert. La raison à cela est que la personne qui est le premier contact n’a souvent connaissance que de la liste des appareils couramment couverts, les appareils de photothérapie UVB n’apparaissant pas toujours dans cette liste. Il peut être utile de mentionner que les appareils de photothérapie à domicile sont dans la liste des frais médicaux éligibles pour l’abattement fiscal. Voir: Acte d’Impôt sur le Revenu, Abattement Fiscal Médical, 118.2(2)(i).

 

Considérations relatives à l’ entreprise d’assurance:

Remarque: Après avoir enquêté auprès de centaines de nos clients canadiens pendant plusieurs années, nous avons des preuves consistantes mettant en évidence que, concernant la couverture par les grandes compagnies d’assurance canadiennes des appareils de photothérapie UVB médicaux pour la maison de Solarc :

– MANULIFE fournit presque toujours la couverture médicale pour l’achat;
– COUGHLIN fournit presque toujours la couverture médicale pour l’achat;
– DESJARDINS fournit presque toujours la couverture médicale pour l’achat;
– BLUE CROSS fournit quelquefois la couverture médicale pour l’achat;
– GREAT WEST LIFE fournit quelquefois la couverture médicale pour l’achat;
– SUNLIFE ne fournit presque jamais la couverture médicale pour l’achat (ironique si l’on considère leur nom.

Sur le plan économique il est intéressant pour les compagnies d’assurance médicale de couvrir ces appareils parce que leur grande efficacité est prouvée et qu’en général ils éliminent le coût des crèmes et lotions pour le patient, coût qui peut atteindre des milliers de dollars par an si on sait qu’un seul tube de Dovobet© coûte $230. De surcroît, la photothérapie à domicile réduit le nombre de patients fréquentant les cliniques de photothérapie payées par le gouvernement, qui sont environ 100 au Canada.

A ce stade, parlez de nouveau avec votre contact et demandez-lui poliment de transmettre votre requête à un superviseur. Essayez de parler directement avec cette autre personne. Certaines compagnies d’assurance ont des procédés d’ “appel”. Beaucoup de gens ont fait appel avec succès.

Voici la clé: Soyez persévérant avec votre requête et demandez à ce qu’elle soit transmise à un niveau encore plus haut si besoin. Soyez patient et toujours poli. A un moment donné la réponse peut être un “non” définitif, mais dans la plupart des cas l’assureur finit par accepter. Votre persévérance montre que c’est très important pour vous et que vous avez vraiment besoin de l’appareil.
Une fois l’approbation donnée, et au cas où il y aurait un changement de personnel dans la compagnie d’assurance, essayez d’obtenir l’engagement de l’assureur par écrit… Bonne chance!

 

    Pour demander une facture proforma à fournir à votre compagnie d'assurance, veuillez nous appeler au 1-866-813-3357 ou remplir le formulaire ci-dessous.

    Pour quel numéro de modèle et appareil demandez-vous cette facture proforma?

    Série-1000



    Combinations Série-E




    Série-500


    Série-100

    Nous vous enverrons votre facture proforma demandée dans les 1-3 jours ouvrables.